Make your own free website on Tripod.com



Historical Markers
in Marlboro County, South Carolina


View an interactive map of Marlboro County with Marker locations & text.
Portable Document Format .pdf - size 381 kb
marlboro.pdf

Markers are listed below in chrnological order as erected
with links to the marker text, photos, etc.


1. Bennettsville

2. Marlborough County Court House

3. Edward Crosland House

4. Old Female Academy
Capt. Thomas Ellerbe


5. Welsh Neck Settlement

6. Albert M. Shipp

7. Bennettsville Methodist Church

8. John Lyde Wilson

9. General John McQueen

10. Robert Blair Campbell
John Campbell


11. Daniel Calhoun Roper

12. John Lowndes McLaurin

13. Bennettsville Presbyterian Church

14. Battle of Hunt's Bluff
Old River Road


15. Pegues Place
Revolutionary Cartel


16. Blenheim

17. Abel Kolb's Murder
Welsh Neck Cemetery


18. Grave of General Tristram Thomas
Saw Mill Baptist Church


19. Barnabas Kelet Henagan Home Site

20. Old Beauty Spot

21. Will of Mason Lee
Grave of Mason Lee


22. Frederick Charles Hans Bruno Poellnitz
Ragtown


23. Jennings-Brown House

24. Sherman's March
Greene's Encampment


25. Magnolia

26. Marlborough Court House
Old River Road


27. Early Cotton Mill

28. Clio

29. Brownsville Church

30. Brownsville Baptist Church

31. Shiness

32. D.D. McColl House













35-1 Bennettsville
Courthouse and City Hall grounds, Bennettsville
In 1819 the court house of Marlborough District was transferred from Carlisle, a village on the Pee Dee River, to this more central location. Bennettsville developed around the new court house in the heart of a rich farm land area. On March 6, 1863, it was occupied by the 17th Army Corps, U.S.A., commanded by Gen. W. T. Sherman. Erected by Bennettsville Jaycees-1962

return to Table Of Contents

35-2 Marlborough County Court House
Courthouse grounds, Bennettsville
Four court houses for Marlborough District or County have stood on this square since Apr. 4, 1820, when it was deeded by John S. Thomas for that purpose. The first court house, completed before 1824, was replaced by a new building in 1852, which was occupied by Union troops in 1865. A third building was finished in 1885. The present court house was built in 1951-1952. Erected by Bennettsville Jaycees-1962

return to Table Of Contents

35-3 Edward Crosland House
204 Parsonage Street, Bennettsville
This marks the oldest house in Bennettsville, built in 1800 by Edward Crosland, who was born in England and later married Ann Snead. He died in Bennettsville in 1821. He was a Patriot, American Revolutionary soldier and plantation owner. His youngest son, William Crosland, was born in this house on April 23, 1800. Erected by Marlboro Chapter Colonial Dames of XVII Century-1967

return to Table Of Contents

35-4 Old Female Academy
121 S. Marlboro Street, Bennettsville
The oldest part of this building served as Bennettsville Female Academy 1833-1881. It originally stood opposite First Methodist Church on East Main Street, was purchased in 1967 by Marlborough Historical Society, moved to its present location, and restored by public donations. Bennettsville Academical Society, organized about 1828, built the Academy. Erected by Marlborough Historical Society-1968

return to Table Of Contents

35-5 Welsh Neck Settlement
NW side of US 15-401 on Marlboro County side at Pee Dee River bridge
Welsh Baptists from Pennsylvania and Delaware settled on the east bank of the Pee Dee as early as 1737. Most of the lands in the Welsh Neck, from Crooked Creek to Hunt's Bluff, had been granted by 1746. A Baptist congregation was organized in 1738. The first church, predecessor of the Welsh Neck Baptist Church in Society Hill, stood one mile upstream. Erected by Marlboro County Historic Preservation Commission-1970

return to Table Of Contents

35-6 Albert M. Shipp
On W side of US 1, 1 mile N of Wallace near Gillespie Cemetery
In Gillespie Cemetery, west of here, is buried Albert M. Shipp, Methodist minister, professor of history at the University of North Carolina 1849-59, second President of Wofford College 1859-75, Vanderbilt University Professor and Dean 1875-85, and
author of Methodism in South Carolina. Dr. Shipp's last home, "Rose Hill" Plantation, is two miles NE. Erected by Wofford College Alumni Association of Chesterfield-Dillion- Marlboro Counties-1970

return to Table Of Contents

35-7 Bennettsville Methodist Church
E. Main Street, Bennettsville
The first Methodist house of worship in Marlboro County was at Beauty Spot, two miles north of here, where, in 1788, Bishop Asbury attended a meeting. By 1834, the first church in town had been built here on 11/2 acres of land donated by W. J. Cook. A second building was erected about 1871. The present church dates from 1900 and was extensively renovated and improved during 1955 and 1956. Erected by The
Congregation-1971

return to Table Of Contents

35-8 John Lyde Wilson
N side of intersection of SC 9 and Road 165
Near this site stood Stony Hill, boyhood home of John Lyde Wilson, state senator and representative, governor of South Carolina from 1822 to 1824, and author of The Code of Honor (1838), widely used by antebellum duellists. His parents, John Wilson and Mary Lide, are buried in nearby Wilson family cemetery. In 1957, a tornado destroyed the home. Erected by Marlboro County Historic Preservation Commission-1971

return to Table Of Contents

35-9 General John McQueen
Corner of S. Marlboro and E. Main Streets, Bennettsville
This U.S. congressman was born on February 9, 1804, at Queensdale, N.C. After being admitted to the bar in 1828, he established a law office on this corner in Bennettsville. McQueen served in the U.S. House of Representatives from 1849 to 1860, resigning on South Carolina's secession from the Union. He was a general of S.C. Militia, a prominent secessionist, and a member of the First Confederate Congress.
Erected by Marlboro County Historic Preservation Commission-1972

return to Table Of Contents

35-10
SE corner intersection of SC 38 and SC 381, Blenheim
(Front) Robert Blair Campbell
This U.S. Congressman and diplomat was born at Woodstock (Argyle) Plantation, 31/2 miles southwest. He was a Brigadier General in the State Militia and served in the S.C. Senate 1822-23, 1830-34. He represented this district in the U.S. Congress 1823-25, 1834-37. He was U.S. Consul to Cuba 1842-50 and to England 1854-61. In 1862 he died and was buried in London.
(Reverse) John Campbell
This U.S. congressman, the younger brother of Robert Blair Campbell, was born 31/2 miles southwest of here. He graduated from the South Carolina College in 1819 and practiced law in Brownsville and Parnassus. He served in Congress as a States Rights Whig 1829-31 and as a States Rights Democrat 1837-45. He died in 1845 and was buried in the family cemetery. Erected by Marlboro County Historic Preservation Commission-1972

return to Table Of Contents

35-11 Daniel Calhoun Roper (1867-1943)
SE side of US 15-401 at Road 22, Tatum
This cabinet member and diplomat was born two miles south of here. He graduated from Trinity College in 1888 and later became head of Marlboro High School, near here. He was Franklin D. Roosevelt's first secretary of commerce from 1933 to 1938 and U.S. minister to Canada, 1939. He was author of Fifty Years of Public Life. Erected by Marlboro County Historic Preservation Commission-1972

return to Table Of Contents

35-12 John Lowndes McLaurin (1860-1934)
NE side of intersection of SC 9 and SC 79
One mile west is the last home of John Lowndes McLaurin, Marlboro County native, U.S. congressman and senator. He served as S.C. representative 1890-91, S.C. attorney general 1891-92, U.S. congressman 1892-97, U.S. senator 1897-1903, and state warehouse commissioner 1915-17. The mill pond west of here bears his name. Erected by Marlboro County Historic Preservation Commission-1972

return to Table Of Contents

35-13 Bennettsville Presbyterian Church
McColl Street, Bennettsville
In 1855 this church was established by members of the Great Pee Dee Church, five miles southeast of here. Fire destroyed a newly-completed building in 1907. The present sanctuary was completed in 1911, the educational building and chapel in 1946. J. Beatty Jennings, elder of this church, was a commissioner to the First General Assembly of the Presbyterian Church U.S. in 1861. Erected by The Congregation-1972

return to Table Of Contents

35-14
W side of Road 57 near Oak River Mill near Great Pee Dee River
(Front) Battle of Hunt's Bluff
On July 25, 1780, a convoy of British boats en route from Cheraw to Georgetown was captured here by local Patriots. Wooden logs resembling cannon were mounted on this bluff. When boats appeared, Captain Tristram Thomas demanded unconditional surrender. At this signal, the Loyalist escort joined forces with the Patriots, making prisoners of the British troops.
(Reverse) Old River Road
This "River Road" was in existence before the Revolution and was a principal trading route from the upper Pee Dee basin and N. C. Piedmont to Georgetown and Charleston on the coast. The road follows the course of the Great Pee Dee River and was traveled extensively by Patriot forces during the Revolution. Early plantations lay along the road.
Erected by Marlboro County Historic Preservation Commission-1973

return to Table Of Contents

35-15
W side of US 1, within 1 mile of North Carolina line
(Front) Pegues Place
About 1760, French Huguenot immigrant Claudius Pegues settled in this area. His home, Pegues Place, is located one mile west of here. A founder and early officer of St. David's Episcopal Church in Cheraw, he was elected in 1768 as parish representative to the Commons House of Assembly and in 1785 was named a justice of the county. He died in 1790.
(Reverse) Revolutionary Cartel
On May 3, 1781, a cartel for the exchange of prisoners of war taken during the American Revolution was signed one mile west of here at the home of Claudius Pegues. Lt. Col. Edward Carrington acted for Maj. Gen. Nathanael Greene of the Continental Army. Capt. Frederick Cornwallis, acting for his cousin, Lieut. Gen. Earl Cornwallis, signed for the British. Erected by Marlboro County Historic Preservation Commission-1973

return to Table Of Contents

35-16 Blenheim
SE corner of SC 38 and SC 381
This community was named for Blenheim Palace in England, home of the Duke of Marlborough, for whom Marlboro County is said to have been named. Formerly called Mineral Spring or Spring Hill for the mineral springs 1/2 mile E, Blenheim traces its origin to wealthy planters who built summer homes during the antebellum period in this healthy locality. Erected by Marlboro County Historic Preservation Commission-1973

return to Table Of Contents

35-17
Intersection of US 15-401 and Road 167 at Pee Dee River off 401
(Front) Abel Kolb's Murder
Colonel Abel Kolb was a prominent Revolutionary War Patriot of this area. A band of Tory raiders, on the night of April 27-28, 1781, surrounded the home of Colonel Kolb and his family. He was shot while surrendering himself as a prisoner of war and his home was burned. His grave is in old Welsh Neck cemetery, one mile north, a short distance from his home site.

(Reverse) Welsh Neck Cemetery
One mile north on the east bank of Pee Dee River is the site of Old Welsh Neck Baptist Church and its cemetery, where early Welsh settlers and their descendants are buried. Two stone monuments and several river rocks mark the few remaining graves of members of the Marshall, Kolb, and Wilds families. When the church moved to Society Hill, the cemetery was abandoned. Erected by Marlboro County Historic Preservation Commission-1973

return to Table Of Contents

35-18
W of Road 209 at its intersection with SC 912
(Front) Grave of General Tristram Thomas
In Saw Mill Church cemetery is the grave of Tristram Thomas, major of militia during the Revolution. At Hunt's Bluff, ten miles south, a band of Patriots under his command seized a British flotilla in 1780. He served as legislator, as first brigadier general of the Cheraw Militia, and as commissioner for locating the county seat.
(Reverse) Saw Mill Baptist Church
In 1785 Philip Pledger donated to the Cheraw Hill Baptist Church a tract of land here adjoining his saw mill. Pledger's Saw Mill Church was eventually constituted in 1820 as a separate church. The original congregation relocated in 1832 as Bennettsville Church. Sawmill Church today is a member of the S. C. Baptist Educational and Missionary Convention. Erected by Marlboro County Historic Preservation Commission-1974

return to Table Of Contents

35-19 Barnabas Kelet Henagan Home Site
Intersection of SC 38 and Road 18, Bristow
Governor Henagan (1798-1855), son of Drusilla and Darby Henagan, planter and
physician, lived about one mile northwest of this site; senator, Marlboro District 1834-38; lieut. governor of S.C. 1838-40; governor of South Carolina 1840; moved to Marion
District 1843; senator, Marion District 1844-46; S.C. secretary of state 1846-50. Erected by Marlboro County Historic Preservation Commission-1974

return to Table Of Contents

35-20 Old Beauty Spot
NW corner of Road 647 and Road 17 NE of Bennettsville
Here stood the first Methodist church of Marlboro County, a single log cabin built in 1783. Here Bishop Francis Asbury presided over and preached at an early Quarterly Conference, held on February 23, 1788. Camp meetings were held here 1810-1842. In 1883, the church was moved to another site, also called Beauty Spot, two miles eastward. Erected by Marlboro County Historic Preservation Commission-1974

return to Table Of Contents

35-21
Intersection of SC 38 and Road 18, Bristow
(Front) Will of Mason Lee
This will, which named S.C. and Tenn. as heirs, was the subject of suits in the 1820s charging Lee was of unsound mind when making his will. An 1827 appellate verdict exonerated Lee and established Heirs at Law of Mason Lee vs. Executor of Mason Lee as the leading case in South Carolina regarding mental capacity in the execution of a will.
(Reverse) Grave of Mason Lee
Mason Lee (1770-1821), a wealthy Pee Dee planter known for his eccentricities, is buried in old Brownsville graveyard two miles south of here. He believed all women were witches and that his kinsmen wished him dead to inherit his property. He felt they used supernatural agents to bewitch him and went to great extremes to avoid these supposed powers. Erected by Marlboro County Historic Preservation Commission-1975

return to Table Of Contents

35-22
Intersection of SC 38 and Road 18
(Front) Frederick Charles Hans Bruno Poellnitz
Born 1734 in Gotha, Germany, this former chamberlain to King Frederick the Great of Prussia came to America in 1782. Commonly called Baron Poellnitz, he lived in New York City nearly eight years before moving four miles W. of here on the Pee Dee River. He and George Washington exchanged ideas about farming projects and equipment.
(Reverse) Ragtown
Located four miles west, this plantation of 2,991 acres was acquired by Baron Poellnitz in 1790 in exchange for some 22 acres in Manhattan, N.Y. Tradition says that deeds for the transaction were drawn in Alexander Hamilton's law office. Poellnitz continued his agricultural experiments at Ragtown. He died in 1801 and was buried on the plantation.
Erected by Marlboro County Historic Preservation Commission-1976

return to Table Of Contents

35-23 Jennings-Brown House
121 S. Marlboro Street, Bennettsville
In 1826 Dr. Edward W. Jones bought a lot at S. Marlboro and present E. Main and built this house thereon shortly after. Owned by Dr. J. Beatty Jennings when Union forces occupied Bennettsville 1865, the house is said to have served as their headquarters. The house was moved here c.1905, purchased by Lura G. Brown 1930, and opened by Marlboro County Preservation Commission as a house museum in 1976. Erected by Marlboro County Historic Preservation Commission-1976

return to Table Of Contents

35-24
Just N of intersection of US 1 and SC 9, Wallace
(Front) Sherman's March
Units of the Union Army under Maj. Gen. Wm. T. Sherman crossed the Pee Dee River near here during March 1865, leaving Cheraw for N.C. The 17th Corps advanced to and occupied Bennettsville; the 15th Corps marched about four miles and camped at Harrington's Plantation; the 14th and 20th Corps crossed the river several miles north of here at Pegues' Crossing.
(Reverse) Greene's Encampment
During December 1780, Major General Nathanael Greene, commander of the Southern Army, brought a number of troops to a "camp of repose" near this spot. Here he hoped for abundant food and improvement of strength, discipline, and spirit of his men. Greene departed camp on January 28, 1781, to resume active campaigning against the British.
Erected by Marlboro County Historic Preservation Commission-1976

return to Table Of Contents

35-25 Magnolia
508 East Main Street, Bennettsville
Constructed in 1853, this house was the home of William D. Johnson, a Bennettsville attorney and one of three Marlboro County signers of South Carolina's Ordinance of Secession. He served in the state Senate 1862-1865 and was elected chancellor of the Equity Court in 1865. According to tradition, Magnolia was occupied by Union troops on March 6, 1865. The house is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. Erected by Marlboro County Historic Preservation Commission-1978

return to Table Of Contents

35-26
On US 401 and 15 at intersection of SC 912
(Front) Marlborough Court House
Located about one mile N. of here was the original county seat of Marlborough County, established in 1785. Tristram Thomas conveyed two acres of land to the county for the erection of public buildings in 1787, and the court house and jail were built there shortly afterward. The county seat was removed to a more central location in 1819. No trace of the original town remains.
(Reverse) Old River Road
This river road follows the course of the Great Pee Dee River and crossed U.S. 15 here. It was in existence before the Revolution and was a principal trade route from North Carolina and the Upper Pee Dee to Georgetown and Charleston. Early plantations lay along the road and it was traveled extensively by Patriot forces during the American Revolution. Erected by Marlboro County Historic Preservation Commission-1978

return to Table Of Contents

35-27 Early Cotton Mill
On SC 385 about 2 miles N of Bennettsville at Road 372
About 1836 William T. Ellerbe, John McQueen, and John N. Williams built a cotton mill approximately one mile northwest. Power for operation of the mill came from the waters of nearby Crooked Creek. Ellerbe and Williams sold their stock in the mill to Meekin Townsend in 1844. The mill was destroyed by fire in 1851, but Burnt Factory Pond remains today. Erected by Marlboro County Historic Preservation Commission-1978

return to Table Of Contents

35-28 Clio
On SC 9 at corner of Main and Society Streets, Clio
McLaurin's Muster Ground, located at this crossroads, became a polling place in 1825. According to local tradition, the community was later called Ivy's Crossroads. A post office named Clio was established here in 1836 and the town was incorporated in 1882. The Florence Railroad Company extended its Latta branch line into Clio in 1895. Erected by Marlboro County Historic Preservation Commission-1979

return to Table Of Contents

35-29 Brownsville Church
About 2.1 miles NW of SC 38 from Bristow on Road 18 at junction of Road 44
In 1788, this Baptist congregation, while still a branch of Cashaway Church (1756), purchased this land from the Rev. John Brown. The branch became an independently constituted church in 1789 named Muddy Creek and by 1829 was known as Brownsville. Welsh Neck Baptist Association was organized here in 1832. The church moved 2 miles NE in 1860. Erected by The Congregation-1989

return to Table Of Contents

35-30
On SC 38, 5 miles SE of Blenheim, at church
(Front) Brownsville Baptist Church
In 1788, this Baptist congregation, a branch of Cashaway Church (1756) founded by Welsh Neck Church (1738), purchased land two miles SW of here from the Rev. John Brown. The congregation was independently constituted in 1789 and named Muddy Creek. The church, which was known as Brownsville by 1829, moved here in 1860.
(Reverse) Brownsville Baptist Church
Completed in 1979 to resemble the 1860 church, which burned in 1977, this building contains the original pine pews & pulpit furniture from the 1860 building. Both the Welsh Neck & Pee Dee Baptist Associations were organized in Brownsville Church in 1832 and 1876, respectively. Prior to 1832, Brownsville belonged to the Charleston Association.
Erected by The Congregation-1989

return to Table Of Contents

35-31
100 Fayetteville Avenue, Bennettsville
(Front) Shiness
According to a plaque placed on its western wall at time of construction, Shiness was built in 1903 by Alexander James Matheson and named for his paternal grandmother's home in Sutherlandshire, Scotland. Matheson was born in Marlboro County in 1848, became a successful businessman and large landowner, married Sarah Ellen Jarnigan in 1870 and became the father of nine.
(Reverse) Shiness
children. He died in 1918 and is buried in McCall Cemetery in Bennettsville. Shiness was sold in 1939 to J. L. Powers, who converted it into apartments. A key structure in Bennettsville's 1978 National Register District, Shiness was purchased by William Light Kinney, Jr., in 1984 for adaptive use as business offices and retail shops. Erected by Marlboro County Historic Preservation Commission-1991

return to Table Of Contents

35-32
D.D. McColl House, 1826
West Main St., Bennettsville
(Front) This house, built in 1826 on Darlington St. (now Main St.), was first owned by H.H. Covington. It was sold in 1871 to Duncan Donald McColl (1842-1911), prominent Marlboro County lawyer and businessman; the McColls lived in this house until 1884. Later moved to S. Liberty St., then McColl St., and finally to its present location by Hugh L. McColl, Jr., the house was donated to the county by McColl in 1991.
(Reverse) D.D. McColl House, 1884
This Queen Anne house, built in 1884 for D.D. McColl, features local brick made from yellow clay and stained to simulate red brick. McColl organized the S.C. & Pacific Railway in 1884, served as its first president, and brought the railroad to Bennettsville and nearby areas. He also helped organize the Bank of Marlboro in 1886 and the Bennettsville Cotton Mill in 1897, and the town of McColl was named after him.
Erected by Pee Dee Committee of the Colonial Dames of America in the State of South Carolina, 1998

return to Table Of Contents


The South Carolina Department of Archives and History site contains basic information
about the S.C. Historical Marker Program and not texts, photographs, or other information
about individual markers.

HOME

Pee Dee Resource Conservation and Development Council



2002 Pee Dee Resource Conservation and Development Council.

This page was last updated on September 28, 2002
_______________________________________________